Gautam – Superman for a day


We locked him up on the roof once. No idea why. We were six, all under the age of 10 and I guess before internet, this is how we had fun. I suppose you could consider it equivalent to posting silly nonsense on someone’s FB wall.(Lavoonie: reference)

Anyway I digress. We locked him up and shouted out from below – ‘Haha, you can’t come down!’

Gautam looked aghast from the roof. He scurried down the steps to find that the door at the bottom of the stairs really was locked.

So he did what only a 4 year old would do. He jumped.

And as he jumped, he said ‘I don’t need the stairs, I am superman, I can fly!’ 6 kids saw him fly from the roof and land with a thud on the ground below.

Mouths and eyes wide open. With Respect.

I cannot recall exactly what happened afterwards. Ofcourse he fractured his ankle and there must have been parents, and hospitals and casts and punishments. All I remember is the jump.

Afternotes:

His belief that six kids were not going to stop him was far stronger than the necessity to succomb to circumstance. I cannot say if that was a smart thing to do or not, but I am all set to test this logic in 2012.

If I end up with a cast, I hear you can get it in color now.

Leave a Reply

